Trump's New and Revised Travel Ban: Are You Affected?

March 7, 2017

United States' President, Donald Trump has issued a revised, narrower travel ban that temporarily excludes citizens without already-issued visas from six countries from entering the US for 90 days. starting March 16.


According to ATW, Iraq has been removed from the list of countries included in the ban, which now includes Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.


The ban which will take effect from March 16, 2017, will not affect legal permanent residents, or green card holders, from the six countries will not be included in the ban. Travelers holding already-issued valid visas will also not be included.


The new executive order is an attempt by the Trump administration to impose travel restrictions on citizens of the six countries without causing confusion among airlines and at airports.


The previous executive order which went into immediate effect, was a surprise to airlines and led to dozens of travelers—including green card holders—being detained at US airports.


US secretary of state Rex Tillerson, said “positive engagement” with the Iraqi government had led to an “intense review” that has enabled Iraq to be dropped from the countries included in the travel ban.


Trump has long argued that the immigration system is failing to protect the nation from the threat of terrorism and that previous leaders were too timid to put American interests ahead of global opinion.


Donald Trump had on 27 January 2017, issued an executive order preventing anyone holding passports from Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen from traveling to the United States. 

Please reload

300 x 250.png
Please reload

Please reload

© Copyright 2020 The Afritraveller. All Rights Reserved.

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Google+ Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Pinterest Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White RSS Icon

Get Social: