top of page
Search
  • Chidozie Uzoezie

FLIGHT REVIEW: Ibom Air: Lagos to Accra



Flight Overview


Date: 17 October, 2023

Route: Lagos – Accra

Flight number: QI0600

Equipment: Bombardier CRJ-900

Scheduled departure time: 7:00am

Actual departure time: 7:55am

Scheduled arrival time: 7:00am local time

Actual arrival time: 7:35am local time

Flight time: 40 minutes


Check-in


This wasn’t just another flight. It was Ibom Air’s inaugural flight from Lagos to Accra. It was the airline’s first of seven planned regional routes to seven African countries. And I was privileged to be on board.


From my previous experiences, Ibom Air has an excellent on-time performance, it keeps to time. I didn’t want to leave anything to chance. So, I checked in online the previous day and selected my seat in advance. Ibom Air opens online check-in platform 24 hours before the flight’s scheduled departure time.

I arrived at the departure hall of the new Terminal 2 of the Murtala Mohammed International Airport at about 6:20am, and headed to Ibom Air’s check-in counters. There was no crowd at the counter as most passengers had already checked in. This was the first sign that Ibom Air was set to replicate its signature on-time performance on this brand-new route.


Cheerful and high-spirited members of Ibom Air’s staff were all over the place. They were all ready to help and wore welcoming smiles. Check in was fast and seamless; it took only a couple of minutes. And with check in done and boarding pass issued, I made my way to security for pre-boarding checks.


Boarding and Departure


Pre-boarding formalities began at 6:45am while the actual boarding commenced at 7:10am. We were bussed to the waiting aircraft stationed at a remote stand. Bold and reassuring smiles from the Flight Attendants welcomed us on board. All three Flights Attendants were friendly, professional, and seemed to be well experienced on the job.


Boarding was well coordinated and took less than 30 minutes to complete. And with the aircraft’s door armed and cross-checked, we pushed back at 7:36am and began our long taxi to runway 18L/36R. In case you’re wondering, Runway 18R/36L was shut down over 6 months ago for repairs. So, at the moment, all departing and arriving traffic use Runway 18L/36R.

Shortly after lining up on the runway, the aircraft’s General Electric CF34-8C5 turbofan engines revved up to full power, and the CRJ-900 rattled down the runway and took off at exactly 7:55am. The delay in departure was due to immigration and inspection formalities as well as weather factor. It was a rainy early morning in Lagos.


Following takeoff, we made a right turn and headed over to Benin Republic and Togo before entering the Ghanaian airspace. Takeoff roll was lovely, lift off was at a comfortable angle and climb out was scenic, although there was little weather. We cruised at 26,000 feet.


The Aircraft and the Seat


Flight QI0600 was operated by 5N-BXP - a relatively young Bombardier CRJ-900 aircraft. This particular aircraft is only 9 years old; it was delivered to Ibom Air in May 2020. It is configured with 90 seats in an all-economy class layout.

As I stepped on board, the aircraft cabin appeared very clean, and smacked of freshness, My first impressions were of comfort, elegance, and luxury, just exactly what they were a few years ago when I took my very first flight with Ibom Air. My seat was 13D – a window seat – which I had deliberately selected during online check-in to help me put my avgeek tendencies to good use.

After locating my seat, I quickly settled in, fastened my seat belt, and got ready to fly. The legroom was so generous that I could cross my legs without constraints. And to make good things even better, the seats were made of leather, taking seat comfort to another level.

With a 4-abreast configuration in a 2-2 layout, the CRJ-900 is one of the most comfortable narrow-body aircraft in the skies today. I didn’t get to measure the seat dimensions, but the aircraft offered impressive seat width and generous leg room, better than the industry standard.


The Crew


The flight was commanded by Captain Violet Enahoro, one of the female captains at Ibom Air. For me, this was a pleasant surprise. The cabin was manned by three Flight Attendants who discharged their duties with a remarkable sense of responsibility and professionalism.

From pushback in Lagos to touchdown in Accra, both cockpit and cabin crews handled the flight very professionally. Although there was weather for the better part of climb out and cruise, they made sure there were no moments of undue anxiety. We were in good hands.


On-board Refreshment

After we levelled off and the captain turned off the fasten your seat belt sign, the cabin crew commenced the on-board refreshment service. Don’t get it twisted. First, it was bottled water. And then came the ‘Snack Packs’ which contained fruit juice, a piece of confectionery, bottled water, and candies.

Although the in-flight meal service wasn’t an elaborate tea-or-coffee English breakfast service (time would not have permitted that), it was good enough to satisfy our excited palates and fill our rumbling stomachs. But most importantly, the service was delivered with professionalism, smiles, and goodwill.


Arrival


Being only a 40-minute flight, our cruise time was short. So, not long after in-flight meal service, we commenced our initial descent into Accra. And following a scenic final approach, we touched down on runway 21 of the Kotoka International Airport, Accra at 7:35am local time (Ghana is one hour behind Nigeria).

While we cruised, the captain had, during her in-flight briefing, told us that the weather in Accra was misty with low visibility. However, by the time we aligned with the runway, the weather had improved greatly, making way for a picturesque final approach and a smooth landing.

And with that, Ibom Air officially touched down in Accra for the first time. What followed was pomp, pageantry, and an impressive display of ceremonial grandeur.


The Pidgin/Vernacular Thing!


With a few other Nigerian airlines, Ibom Air is bringing a new perspective to flying, especially with respect to safety and passenger experience. On my very first flight with Ibom Air a few years ago, I was pleasantly surprised to hear in-flight announcements in the airline’s native Ibibio language. I absolutely loved it. I’ve since been enjoying more of this innovation on subsequent flights with Ibom Air.


In addition to inadvertently entertaining passengers, (occasionally) making in-flight announcements in pidgin and vernacular ensures that the points are driven home, without ambiguity. On this flight though, it came with a little twist. As we taxied to the terminal, the in-flight announcement was made in Pidgin right after it had been rendered in English, of course.


Final Verdict


As with my previous flights with Ibom Air, most of my expectations were met, and some of them even exceeded. You can be sure that I’ll definitely fly with Ibom Air again on the Lagos-Accra route.


Lagos-Accra route is the most popular and the most important air route in West Africa. Ibom Air is bringing something new and exciting to it. Among other advantages, Ibom Air’s schedules allow you to leave Lagos or Accra in the morning and return to Lagos or Accra in the evening of the same day. Who says you can’t eat amala in the morning and eat waakye in the evening?

If you’re looking for a safe, convenient, and cost-effective way of flying between Lagos and Accra, Ibom Air is your best option. With Ibom Air, you get on-time departures, schedule reliability, pocket-friendly fares, and professional crew. What else can you ask for? Book your flight now on www.ibomair.com.


Trip Summary


Check in: 95%

Boarding: 90%

Punctuality: 85%

Aircraft: 90%

Crew: 90%

In-flight service: 90%

Flight: 95%

Seat comfort: 95%



Chidozie Uzoezie is an Aviation Analyst, Content Creator, In-flight Magazine Contributor, and Newspaper Columnist. He’s the CEO of The Afritraveller and the founder of the African Aviation Group (on Facebook). He can be reached on WhatsApp +23408178379876 or via email on theafritraveller@gmail.com.


Comments


A4-print-explore the world with ethiopian-R-1022-compressed.jpg
SAT2.jpg
unnamed.jpg
SAA2.jpg
E-Fuel 1.jpg
300x300px.jpg

 Featured Posts 

Comments (26)

Guest
Sep 21, 2022

We just booked our QATAR 🇶🇦 HÔTEL yesterday for 2 différent short stars of 2 nights and 3 nights for the Final… https://www.14sb.com/fifa-world-cup-hotels.html . Not exactly cheap but ok price for 4.5 Stars luxury and in Doha Center City! Thanks and Good Luck everyone! Vamos MEXICO!

Like

Guest
Sep 30, 2022

Wow! Stunning! Hilton seems to be taking Africa by storm. Just a couple of years back, they opened the first ever in Eswatini.

Like

kasarokcaesar
Oct 24, 2022

Wonderful event and topics discussed, hopefully we see the manifestations in our African airline businesses in the nearest future. Kudos to you all.

Like

Guest
Nov 10, 2022

Hi, I'm Lucy. Please how do I embark on my travel/ tour business. I am newbie and help..

Like

Guest
Nov 18, 2022

Prices in the Sol Torremolinos Don Pablo are the same than two weeks ago.

Like

Guest
Dec 04, 2022

Good location astounding but the staffs are rude and they make me wait so long for the service. They charge me more than what is on the website and did not refund me the manager is not helping with the issue


Like

Guest
Dec 15, 2022

WoW. Amazing Review. 👍

Like

Guest
Jan 07, 2023

I spent the holidays here, I don't know why but during the holidays their reception smells like a piss Id rather not spend my special occasions here

Like
Guest
Aug 07, 2023
Replying to

Where is here.

Like

Guest
Jan 27, 2023

Thank you for sharing such a detailed review about ethiopian airlines in your post. I am an avid traveller and keep reading flight reviews to assess the options available. Your review particularly drew my attention because you have shared so many pictures to capture every aspect of the flight experience. It is a very nice effort.


More Info : https://www.cleartrip.ae/flight-booking/ethiopian-air-airlines.html

Like

Guest
Feb 27, 2023

I am really tempted to book the next ethiopian airlines ticket and relive your journey. The pictures shared with the post also reflect that you truly enjoyed the travel. Great post! I also like the fact that you have covered nuances about the food and entertainment service through the pictures. It helps people know what to expect on their travel by this airline.


More Info : https://www.cleartrip.ae/flight-booking/ethiopian-air-airlines.html


Like