top of page
Search
  • Chidozie Uzoezie

FLIGHT REVIEW: Green Africa: Owerri - Lagos



Introduction


Green Africa is a Nigerian value airline based in Lagos. Interestingly, this was my very first time of flying with the airline since they began operations in August 2021. So, I wasn't sure what to expect.


Up until now, I had keenly followed Green Africa's operations, especially with respect to ticket pricing, schedule reliability and on-time performance. I had read and heard some pretty good reviews and testimonies about the airline. But I hadn't had the opportunity to fly with them.


I waited for almost two years. But finally, the opportunity came last week. I had booked the flight only four days in advance and got a fairly decent deal on the gSaver ticket class. It wasn't exactly cheap, but it didn't cost an arm and a leg either.


Trip Overview


Date: 6 February, 2023

Route: Owerri (QOW) - Lagos (LOS)

Flight number: Q9325

Equipment: ATR 72-600

Travel Class: Economy

Scheduled boarding time: 5:20pm

Actual boarding time: 5:20pm

Scheduled departure time: 5:50pm

Actual departure time: 5:39pm

Scheduled arrival time: 7:20pm

Actual arrival time: 7:01pm

Flight time: 1 hour, 21 minutes


Check-In


Green Africa has a user-friendly mobile app which offers easy navigation through the menu. Online check-in for Green Africa's flights opens 24 hours before the flight's scheduled departure time. I checked in online the previous night and downloaded my digital boarding pass on my phone. It was very easy and convenient.


For the gSaver ticket class, seats are automatically assigned once booking is confirmed. If you are travelling on a gSaver ticket, you may be able to change your assigned seat, but for a fee. But I was fortunate. The system automatically assigned seat 7A to me. It was a window seat, and I was happy with it.


I arrived at the Owerri Airport at about 4:40pm - less than an hour before the scheduled departure time of 5:20pm. As I walked into the departure hall, I became unsure where Green Africa's check-in counter was, since this was my first time flying with the airline.


There wasn't any signage (perhaps, a banner) to direct passengers to their check-in counter. Every other airline had their banners, but Green Africa didn't. As I stood there wondering which way to go, a voice shouted "Green Africa" and I went to the direction of the voice.


Anyway, since I already checked in online and got my seat in advance, I only needed to check in my bag and collect the printed boarding pass. Check in was fast and stress-free.


Baggage Allowance


As with value airlines, this is where the 'catch' is. For Green Africa, the lowest ticket class is the gSaver, for which passengers are entitled to only one hand luggage not weighing more than 7kg. Anything outside that is considered to be and charged as excess luggage. And since I was travelling on a gSaver ticket, I was entitled to only one hand luggage.


But in addition to my allowed hand luggage of 7kg, I was also travelling with a check-in luggage which weighed about 16kg, and for which I paid N13,498. I toggled between different counters to do this, but the staff were very helpful and considerate. And with my excess luggage sorted out, check-in formalities were completed and I proceeded to security checkpoint, which also went swiftly.


My recommendations: If you travel light, the gSaver ticket class is perfect for you. But if you're a heavy traveller, consider the gClassic and gFlex ticket classes.


Boarding


Boarding started on schedule at exactly 5:20pm. On stepping onto the aircraft, a Flight Attendant greeted the passengers with warmth and a friendly smile. I quickly located my seat in the Zone B of the aircraft cabin. And having stowed my hand luggage in the overhead bin, I quickly settled in and eagerly awaited departure. The entire boarding process was orderly, well-coordinated, and quick. It was a quick turnaround.

As we settled in, the Captain’s voice came from the flight deck over the aircraft PA system. The voice was firm, reassuring, smooth, and yankee. The Captain’s welcome briefing was like a lady's underwear - short enough to be interesting and long enough to cover the subject matter. He greeted and welcomed the passengers, and announced that the flight was going to be a good ride. He spoke about flight time, weather en-route, weather at destination, cruising altitude, outside temperature etc. He was detailed.


Aircraft and Seat

Our ride was 5N-GAD, a 10-year old ATR 72-600 aircraft delivered to Green Africa in June 2021. The aircraft was clean and spotted a relatively modern interior. As with all the aircraft in Green Africa's fleet, this particular aircraft had an all-economy class configuration with a total of 70 seats in a 2-2 4-abreast layout.

My seat was 7A - a window seat in Zone B of the cabin. I love window seats. I didn't get to measure the dimensions, but the seat width was quite impressive and the legroom was generous. The seat was ergonomic enough for the ride. However, I think it could use some softness.


In-flight Service


Well, as with value airlines, Green Africa does not offer complementary in-flight meals, neither do they offer in-flight entertainment on individual seatback screens. However, we were served 25cl of bottle water as soon as the flight levelled off. And that was all we got in form of in-flight refreshment.

The water was served with a smile and a cheerful heart. In fairness, I didn't expect we would be served sandwiches with coffee or tea. Green Africa is a no-frills airline. So, I wasn't disappointed.


The Flight and the Crew


With boarding formalities completed and the aircraft’s door armed and cross-checked, the aircraft began the short taxi to the runway. At 5:39pm, the Pratt & Whitney PW127M engines roared to full power, and following a beautiful takeoff roll, 5N-GAD gently lifted off and made a westerly departure.

In the absence of in-flight entertainment, my window seat was my companion. My eyes were practically glued to the window as I keenly watched from takeoff to landing and everything in-between.


I watched as the ATR 72-600 broke into the clouds with ease, and as it cruised at 16,000 feet above sea level. I watched as the six-bladed propellers propelled the big bird through the sky. I watched as it began its initial descent and final approach, in preparation for landing. And finally, I watched as the aircraft gently touched down at exactly 7:01pm on Runway 18L at Lagos Airport and taxied to the General Aviation Terminal (GAT).

The fight was commanded by Captain Dave Mlota, and he was assisted by Senior First Officer Tumi Akeredolu. They both demonstrated dexterity and handled the ATR 72-600 professionally. Queen and Grace were in charge of affairs in the cabin. They took very good care of us, both on ground and in the air. From takeoff to landing, the entire flight was handled professionally, and the crew did everything they could to make sure we had a good experience.


Conclusion


This was my first flight with Green Africa, and I can say that my expectations were met. From check-in to deboarding, Flight Q9325 went well, baring a few moments of bad weather. It was everything the captain had said it would be. It was a good ride.


Among all the operational indices, punctuality was very outstanding with more than 100% on-time performance. And this is the first time I'm scoring an airline a 100% in punctuality in all my flight reviews. Overall, I score the flight 92%. If I have the opportunity, I will fly with Green Africa again. Definitely!


Score Card:


Check-in: 90%

Boarding: 92%

Punctuality: 100%

Aircraft: 90%

Crew: 94%

In-flight service: 85%

Flight: 90%

Seat comfort: 90%



Post-flight Note


I need to mention that Green Africa has seemingly cultivated a company-wide culture of good customer service. Mr John Ekwebe is a typical example.


While I exchanged pleasantries with the crew after landing, a bus came to pick the passengers from the aircraft to the terminal building. By the time I came down from the aircraft, the bus had gone with the rest of the passengers, leaving only me behind. But someone was there for me.


Having noticed that I missed the bus, Mr John Ekwebe was happy and willing to help. No, he didn't shout at me for missing the bus. Rather, he respectfully greeted and put me in his van and drove me to the terminal building. But that was only a part of the unexpected goodwill.


John demonstrated impressive customer service and interpersonal relationship skills as well as a good knowledge of his company. While in the van, he thanked me for flying with Green Africa. And he was interested in how my flight went. For a 'common' driver, I didn't expect him to be such a good ambassador. In deed, it was a pleasant surprise. Talk of little things that matter!

1 comentario


etcheta egejuru
etcheta egejuru
09 nov 2023

Vividly captured. Your aviation knowledge is beyond frequent flyer status. Confirm status.

Me gusta
A4-print-explore the world with ethiopian-R-1022-compressed.jpg
SAT2.jpg
unnamed.jpg
SAA2.jpg
450 x 450.png
300x300 3rd AAF Annoucement Banner.jpg

 Featured Posts 

Comments (25)

Guest
Sep 21, 2022

We just booked our QATAR 🇶🇦 HÔTEL yesterday for 2 différent short stars of 2 nights and 3 nights for the Final… https://www.14sb.com/fifa-world-cup-hotels.html . Not exactly cheap but ok price for 4.5 Stars luxury and in Doha Center City! Thanks and Good Luck everyone! Vamos MEXICO!

Like

Guest
Sep 30, 2022

Wow! Stunning! Hilton seems to be taking Africa by storm. Just a couple of years back, they opened the first ever in Eswatini.

Like

kasarokcaesar
Oct 24, 2022

Wonderful event and topics discussed, hopefully we see the manifestations in our African airline businesses in the nearest future. Kudos to you all.

Like

Guest
Nov 10, 2022

Hi, I'm Lucy. Please how do I embark on my travel/ tour business. I am newbie and help..

Like

Guest
Nov 18, 2022

Prices in the Sol Torremolinos Don Pablo are the same than two weeks ago.

Like

Guest
Dec 04, 2022

Good location astounding but the staffs are rude and they make me wait so long for the service. They charge me more than what is on the website and did not refund me the manager is not helping with the issue


Like

Guest
Dec 15, 2022

WoW. Amazing Review. 👍

Like

Guest
Jan 07, 2023

I spent the holidays here, I don't know why but during the holidays their reception smells like a piss Id rather not spend my special occasions here

Like
Guest
Aug 07, 2023
Replying to

Where is here.

Like

Guest
Jan 27, 2023

Thank you for sharing such a detailed review about ethiopian airlines in your post. I am an avid traveller and keep reading flight reviews to assess the options available. Your review particularly drew my attention because you have shared so many pictures to capture every aspect of the flight experience. It is a very nice effort.


More Info : https://www.cleartrip.ae/flight-booking/ethiopian-air-airlines.html

Like

Guest
Feb 27, 2023

I am really tempted to book the next ethiopian airlines ticket and relive your journey. The pictures shared with the post also reflect that you truly enjoyed the travel. Great post! I also like the fact that you have covered nuances about the food and entertainment service through the pictures. It helps people know what to expect on their travel by this airline.


More Info : https://www.cleartrip.ae/flight-booking/ethiopian-air-airlines.html


Like
WAF  300 x 300.png
EAA24-web-banner-300x300.jpg